loader image

Challenging the Deductible

Challenging the Deductible

This case study outlines how BARBUSS successfully defended a client—an insurance company—against a judicial ruling that obligated them to pay a claim, despite the judgment amount being less than the insured’s deductible. Through a rigorous legal strategy based on an interpretation of the National Insurance Act, BARBUSS secured a favorable ruling from the Court of Appeal. This decision not only absolved the client from all payments but also set a crucial precedent that has since influenced the policyholder’s future behavior, fostering a more collaborative approach to claims management.

Following an accident in a shopping center, the victim sued the center’s owner and its insurance company. A lower court initially condemned the insurer to pay the claim, a decision that appeared straightforward on the surface. However, the judgment amount, excluding interest and costs, was less than the mandatory deductible stipulated in the policy. The policy required the insured to pay a minimum deductible, yet the insured was intransigent in their stance and expected the insurance company to cover all costs. This situation escalated into a legal dispute when the court threatened to seize the insurance company’s assets to enforce payment, leading to an immediate appeal from our team.

 

STRATEGY APPLIED

Our strategy focused on a deep dive into jurisprudence and legal doctrine to support our client’s position. Our team at BARBUSS maintained a consistent stance from the beginning: the insured was liable for all payments since the judgment amount was below their deductible. We were diligent in filing all necessary appeals to prevent the enforcement of the judgment against the insurance company. This steadfast approach, combined with a comprehensive legal analysis, was key to our success.

 

DEVELOPMENT, CHALLENGES AND CLIENT MANAGEMENT

The primary challenge was the policyholder’s unwavering position. They refused to negotiate, forcing the matter to be resolved through the courts. At the time of enforcing the judgment, a critical interpretation of the extension of the National Insurance Act became the central point of contention. The key legal dispute revolved around whether interest and legal costs should be included in the calculation of the judgment amount to determine the deductible’s applicability.

Our team at BARBUSS worked closely with the client, ensuring they were informed and aligned with our legal strategy. The most important development was the establishment of an important precedent in a situation that regularly occurs with this specific policyholder.

 

CONCLUSION

The Court of Appeal ruled in our favor, stating that the deductible should be calculated solely on the basis of the judgment amount, without considering interest or surcharges. As the deductible was higher, the insured was held responsible for all legal costs. This victory resulted in a 100% win for our client, as they were not required to make any payments.

Following this case, the precedent had a significant impact. The previously unyielding policyholder has become more receptive to paying their proportionate share of costs, avoiding further disputes. This case not only provided a successful resolution but also reinforced the contractual obligations of policyholders, proving that a firm and legally sound defense can lead to lasting positive change.

 

BARBUSS
Case Study by

Martín Bertello Huesca 

Claims Handler 

Este caso de estudio describe cómo BARBUSS defendió con éxito a un cliente —una compañía de seguros— contra un fallo judicial que la obligaba a pagar una reclamación, a pesar de que el monto de la sentencia era inferior al deducible del asegurado. A través de una rigurosa estrategia legal basada en una interpretación de la Ley Nacional de Seguros, BARBUSS obtuvo un fallo favorable del Tribunal de Apelación. Esta decisión no solo absolvió al cliente de todos los pagos, sino que también sentó un precedente crucial que ha influido en el comportamiento futuro del asegurado, fomentando un enfoque más colaborativo en la gestión de siniestros.

Tras un accidente en un centro comercial, la víctima demandó al propietario del centro y a su compañía de seguros. Un tribunal inferior condenó inicialmente a la aseguradora a pagar la reclamación, una decisión que a simple vista parecía sencilla. Sin embargo, el monto de la sentencia, excluyendo intereses y costas, era inferior al deducible obligatorio estipulado en la póliza. La póliza exigía al asegurado pagar un deducible mínimo, pero el asegurado se mantuvo intransigente en su postura y esperaba que la compañía de seguros cubriera todos los costos. Esta situación escaló a una disputa legal cuando el tribunal amenazó con embargar los activos de la compañía de seguros para hacer cumplir el pago, lo que provocó una apelación inmediata de nuestro equipo.

 

ESTRATEGIA APLICADA

Nuestra estrategia se centró en una investigación profunda de la jurisprudencia y la doctrina legal para respaldar la posición de nuestro cliente. Nuestro equipo en BARBUSS mantuvo una postura coherente desde el principio: el asegurado era responsable de todos los pagos ya que el monto de la sentencia estaba por debajo de su deducible. Fuimos diligentes al presentar todos los recursos necesarios para evitar la ejecución de la sentencia contra la compañía de seguros. Este enfoque firme, combinado con un análisis legal exhaustivo, fue clave para nuestro éxito.

 

DESARROLLO, DESAFÍOS Y MANEJO DEL CLIENTE

El principal desafío fue la postura inquebrantable del asegurado. Se negaron a negociar, lo que obligó a que el asunto se resolviera a través de los tribunales Al momento de la etapa de ejecución de la sentencia, una interpretación crítica de la extensión de la Ley Nacional de Seguros se convirtió en el punto central de la disputa. El litigio legal clave giró en torno a si los intereses y las costas legales debían incluirse en el cálculo del monto de la sentencia para determinar la aplicabilidad del deducible.

Nuestro equipo en BARBUSS trabajó estrechamente con el cliente, asegurándose de que estuvieran informados y alineados con nuestra estrategia legal. El desarrollo más importante fue el establecimiento de un precedente importante en una situación que ocurre regularmente con este asegurado específico.

 

CONCLUSIÓN

El Tribunal de Apelación falló a nuestro favor, estableciendo que el deducible debía calcularse únicamente sobre la base del monto de la sentencia, sin considerar intereses ni recargos. Como el deducible era mayor, el asegurado fue considerado responsable de todos los costos legales. Esta victoria resultó en un 100% de éxito para nuestro cliente, ya que no se le exigió realizar ningún pago.

Tras este caso, el precedente tuvo un impacto significativo. El asegurado, que antes era inflexible, se ha vuelto más receptivo a pagar la parte proporcional de los costos que le corresponde, evitando así futuras disputas. Este caso no solo proporcionó una resolución exitosa, sino que también reforzó las obligaciones contractuales de los asegurados, demostrando que una defensa firme y legalmente sólida puede conducir a un cambio positivo y duradero.